Finalists announced in the 2016 JoAnn Falletta International Guitar Concerto Competition

BUFFALO, NY – After two nights of semi-finals, the judges of the 2016 JoAnn Falletta International Guitar Concerto Competition have selected three finalists.
The three finalists will perform with the Buffalo Philharmonic under the baton of JoAnn Falletta at 7:30 p.m. Saturday, June 11 at Kleinhans Music Hall, 3 Symphony Circle. The evening of music will culminate with the announcement of the first, second, and third place winners. Tickets are available at or by calling (716) 885-5000. The competition is presented by the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra and WNED | WBFO.
The three finalists are: Anton Baranov of Russia, Andras Csaki of Hungary, and Alec Holcomb of the United States.
Baranov is the winner of the 2013 Guitar Foundation of America Competition. He has recorded on the Naxos and the Contrastes Records label, and is also a professor at Saint-Petersburg State Rimsky-Korsakov Conservatory, from which he graduated in 2010Csaki currently serves as an Associate Professor at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest, the school from which he graduated in 2007. He has given recitals throughout Europe, the United States, South America, Japan and China, and won 11 first prizes in guitar competitions throughout the world.

Holcomb is a student at the Curtis School of Music, and studies with Western New York native and Grammy award winner Jason Vieaux. He has appeared on WHYY in Philadelphia, and has continued to participate in guitar competitions, winning first prize at the East Carolina Guitar Competition and the Philadelphia Classical Guitar Competition, and fourth prize at the Parkening International Guitar Competition.
Those who did not advance will be performing free of charge throughout Western New York on Friday, June 10 in Guitar Day. For a complete schedule, visit


About the Competition

Founded in 2004 and organized by WNED ǀ WBFO and the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, the competition is one of the foremost musical events in the world and the first concerto competition for classical guitarists. It is named in honor of the BPO’s music director, JoAnn Falletta. Past winners include Marcin Dylla, Marko Topchii, and Celil Refik Kaya. For more information about the competition, visit .

# # #