Loading Events

Prokofiev’s Piano

Originally written for opera from poet Alexander Pushkin’s satirical fairytale of trial, heroism, and love, Glinka’s overture is ebullient and effervescent, a perfect complement to Prokofiev’s demanding piano concerto requiring dexterity and blazing virtuosity of the soloist. The rarely-performed symphony of Scriabin, displaying his growing fascination with mysticism fully realized in The Divine Poem and The Poem of Ecstasy, completes the program.


JoAnn Falletta, conductor
Alexander Malofeev, piano

GLINKA  Overture to Ruslan and Ludmila
PROKOFIEV  Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major
SCRIABIN  Symphony No. 2 in C minor


Saturday, March 5, 2022
7:30 pm
Event Categories:
, ,
Purchase Tickets

Additional Dates


Kleinhans Music Hall
3 Symphony Circle
Buffalo, NY 14201 United States
(716) 885-5000

Add to Calendar